Cables and Connectors

HDMI Port Pin Guide

HDMI: The Workhorse of Digital Media

The standard HDMI connector (Type A) has 19 pins each serving a specific purpose in transmitting various audio and video signals.

Pin Categories

1. Transmission Minimized Differential Signaling (TMDS)

– 9 pins split into 3 channels (Data0, Data1, Data2) each with positive (+) and negative (-) pins.

– These carry the core video and audio data as high speed digital signals.

2. Clock Signals

– One set of positive and negative clock pins (TMDS Clock).

– Provides timing reference to synchronize data transmission.

3. Consumer Electronics Control (CEC):

– 1 pin for device control communication (e.g. one touch play between compatible devices).

4. Reserved/Utility

– 1 pin designated as reserved (used in other HDMI connector types).

– 1 pin for the DDC (Display Data Channel) used for device identification and capability negotiation.

5. Hot Plug Detect

– 1 single pin detects when a device is connected.

6. Power

– 1 single +5V pin that provides limited power to active devices.

Key Things

Digital Powerhouse: The majority of pins are dedicated to high speed digital audio and video transmission (TMDS).

Clever Control: CEC and DDC facilitate communication between HDMI devices for smoother operation.

No Analog Here: Unlike its predecessor VGA, HDMI is purely digital.

HDMI Evolution

This layout applies to the standard HDMI Type A connector. Other HDMI connector types (like Mini or Micro) have fewer pins but follow a similar conceptual arrangement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *